Pipeline

Programme 04

Native F1 + rV in alum

Phase 2a n=240; Phase 2b two-regimen trial

Native F1 plus recombinant V, adsorbed on alum. Run by the Lanzhou Institute of Biological Products with the Jiangsu CDC. A Phase 2a enrolled about 240 people, and a Phase 2b is comparing two regimens. It is in humans and is not a marketed product in this briefing. Lanzhou sits inside China National Biotec Group, part of the unlisted state parent. Hong Kong-listed Sinopharm Group (1099) is a distributor, not the maker.

Stage chart
Preclinical
Phase 1
Phase 2
Phase 3
Licensed

Phase 2a → Phase 2b. Phase 3 is empty here, as it is for every programme in the set.

Years on the record

2014–2026. Labelled “2014–now” on the briefing. Not a forecast.

Analyst card

Challenge
Human immunogenicity and safety. No challenge form is in the trial records used here.
F1-negative strains
Not reported. Native F1 and recombinant V are both in the shot.
Adjuvant
Aluminium hydroxide.
Route
Intramuscular, deltoid. Phase 2b uses 30 µg of each antigen in 1.0 ml.
Stability
Liquid in saline. Thermostability is not stated.
Time to protection
Antibodies were still up at month 12 in the Phase 2a. Days-to-protection is not reported.
Other threats
Plague only.
Survival figure
No challenge survival figure. Phase 2a compared 15 µg and 30 µg. The higher dose raised more antibody.
Animal Rule
Chinese clinical development. Not an FDA Animal Rule file.

Pipeline record

What is in it
Native F1, extracted from a live attenuated Y. pestis strain, plus recombinant V made in E. coli, mixed 1:1 in saline and adsorbed on alum.
Doses tested
15 µg or 30 µg of each antigen, in 1.0 ml. In the Phase 2a, 30 µg raised higher antibodies than 15 µg, and both were still up at month 12.
Phase 1
ChiCTR-ONRC-13003766, registered 7 November 2013. Single centre, healthy adults 18 to 55. Lanzhou made it; Jiangsu CDC led the clinical work.
Phase 2b
CTR20200846. Target 720 adults aged 18 to 55. Two schedules, months 0/1/6 and 0/2/6, each dose 30 µg of F1 and 30 µg of V, injected into the deltoid.
Where it sits
Lanzhou Institute of Biological Products, 888 Yanchang Road. Inside unlisted China National Biotec Group. Hong Kong 1099 is not this vaccine.

Registries

  • ChiCTR-ONRC-13003766 · ChiCTR · Lanzhou Phase 1Registered 7 November 2013. Single centre. Adults 18 to 55. Native F1 plus recombinant V. Safety and tolerability.
  • CTR20200846 · Chinese clinical trial registry · Lanzhou Phase 2bTarget 720 adults aged 18 to 55. Schedules at months 0/1/6 and 0/2/6. Each dose is 30 µg F1 and 30 µg V in 1.0 ml, into the deltoid. No stable English protocol URL is attached here.

News

Checking today’s headlines.

Latest intel

Checking Europe PMC.

PubMed

Checking today’s index.

Platform
Subunit

Purified pieces of the bacterium — here, usually capsule antigen F1 and the V antigen, LcrV — instead of a living organism. This is the only platform in the set with a new marketing authorisation.

Who is paying
China — Lanzhou Inst. Biological Products + Jiangsu CDC
Listed company
None. Lanzhou Institute of Biological Products sits inside China National Biotec Group, part of the state Sinopharm parent. That parent is not quoted. Hong Kong-listed Sinopharm Group (1099) distributes medicines; it does not make this vaccine.
Country
China
What was tested
Human · Phase 2
Stage
Phase 2a → Phase 2b
Date
2014–now
Antigens named
F1V / LcrV