For the desk

Brief

Challenge form, antigen, adjuvant, and what this set does not know. Empty cells stay empty. No survival curve was invented to fill them.

Aerosol and systemic counts include programmes tested on both routes. “No challenge” means a human study or a paper that never named a form of plague.

Natural foci

Where plague already lives in animals and people. Cross-checked against deployment, not against a live case feed.

MadagascarDR CongoPeruWestern United StatesMongoliaKazakhstanWestern ChinaRussia
Madagascar. The heaviest modern human burden. No vaccine in this set is deployed there.

Regional markers, not case coordinates, and not a live outbreak feed. Amber means EV76 is already in use.

What a shot can see

F1 sits on the outside
A diagram, not a structure. Pla is absent on purpose: in this set it is a gene some live strains delete, not a target painted on the surface.
Lung
A diagram of the port of entry. It is not a measured intercept by antibodies, and it is not a challenge dose.

Registries

Only identifiers this briefing actually holds. The other programmes have no public trial number here.

  • 06 NCT01381744 · ClinicalTrials.govPhase 1. NIAID, DMID 08-0066. February 2012 to August 2014. Registry enrollment 48. Intramuscular on day 0 and day 28, at 1, 3, 6, or 10 µg.
  • 03 NCT05506969 · ClinicalTrials.govPhase 2. Dynavax with the US Department of Defense. Adults 18 to 55. Immunogenicity and safety. Not a challenge study.
  • 03 NCT07207408 · ClinicalTrials.govPhase 2. Protocol DV2-DC02-02. Sanofi identifier VCG26632. Enrollment started 11 September 2025. Estimated primary completion 29 January 2027. About 148 adults aged 18 to 55.
  • 05 ISRCTN41077863 · ISRCTNPhase 1. University of Oxford. Innovate UK. Protocol OVG 2019/05. EU CTIS 2020-000710-15. Opened July 2021. About 40 adults aged 18 to 55. One or two doses of 5 × 10¹⁰ virus particles.
  • 04 ChiCTR-ONRC-13003766 · ChiCTRRegistered 7 November 2013. Single centre. Adults 18 to 55. Native F1 plus recombinant V. Safety and tolerability.
  • 04 CTR20200846 · Chinese clinical trial registryTarget 720 adults aged 18 to 55. Schedules at months 0/1/6 and 0/2/6. Each dose is 30 µg F1 and 30 µg V in 1.0 ml, into the deltoid. No stable English protocol URL is attached here.
  • 02 LP-004808 · Russian state registerApril 2024. One subcutaneous dose. This is a licence number, not a public trial protocol.

Registry metadata

Reading ClinicalTrials.gov where an NCT exists.

    Making it, storing it, paying for it

    Host
    Lanzhou’s V antigen is made in E. coli. Its F1 is extracted from an attenuated Y. pestis strain. No other programme names a production host, a yield, or a CDMO.
    Cold chain
    Not stated for any of the 21. The RNA candidates use lipid nanoparticles. This page does not assign them a −80 °C requirement that the papers here never gave.
    Awards
    One figure: about $22 million from the US Department of Defense to Dynavax, announced 4 October 2021, for the CpG 1018 Phase 2. No DoD SBIR number, DTRA project code, BARDA announcement, or CEPI grant is in the record.
    Resistant strains
    Zero of the 21 report a challenge with a streptomycin-resistant or multidrug-resistant isolate. Antibiotic failure does not appear as a vaccine result here.

    Manufacturing

    No bioreactor yield and no CDMO. Cold chain is unstated for every candidate, including the RNA ones. −80 °C is not assigned.

    ProgrammeWhat is known
    03 rF1V + CpG 1018DoD rF1V antigen from USAMRIID. Adjuvant CpG 1018. Parenteral. Host, yield, CDMO, and cold chain are not stated.
    04 Native F1 + rV in alumRecombinant V made in E. coli. Native F1 extracted from an attenuated strain. Alum in saline, 15 or 30 µg of each antigen in 1.0 ml. No yield, CDMO, or cold-chain figure.
    07 F1 mRNA-LNP — single dosemRNA in a lipid nanoparticle. Ultra-cold storage is not stated. No host yield or CDMO.
    08 Bivalent F1 + LcrV mRNA-LNPTwo mRNAs in lipid nanoparticles, including an Fc design. Ultra-cold storage is not stated.
    09 Self-amplifying RNA-LNP, F1 + VSelf-amplifying RNA in lipid nanoparticles. Ultra-cold storage is not stated.

    The other 16 programmes do not name a production host, a formulation, or a plant.

    Funding ledger

    One non-dilutive figure is on the record. No SBIR, DTRA, BARDA, or CEPI identifier is attached to these 21.

    03 · rF1V + CpG 1018
    About $22 million from the US Department of Defense to Dynavax, announced 4 October 2021, to run a Phase 2. Development money, not a stockpile buy.
    The other 20
    Not in the briefing. State labs and universities name a funder, not a contract number.

    Resistant strains

    0 of 21 report a challenge with a streptomycin-resistant or multidrug-resistant Y. pestis. Imperial’s RNA work used a Madagascar clinical isolate and did not call it resistant.

    Antigen matrix

    F1 is the capsule. V is LcrV, the tip of the type III secretion needle. YscF is another needle protein. Pla is not a column: two live strains delete it to weaken the bacterium. It is not an antigen in this set.

    More than plague

    Regulation

    People are not challenged with Y. pestis. A US licence for a plague vaccine would use the Animal Rule, 21 CFR 601 Subpart H: animal efficacy, plus a correlate of protection that predicts the human response. This briefing records neither an Animal Rule approval nor a correlate. The only primate aerosol result in the set is the UTMB adenovirus, where every macaque in the reported study survived. That is evidence of the kind the rule asks for. It is not a designation.

    The flagellin Phase 1 published peak IgG titers after two 10 microgram doses. Those numbers are immunogenicity, not a protective threshold.

    Money and stockpiles

    The only contract amount in the set is the US Department of Defense award to Dynavax, about $22 million, announced on 4 October 2021, to run a Phase 2 of rF1V with CpG 1018. That bought development, not a stockpile.

    The United States has no FDA-approved plague vaccine, so none of these 21 is a licensed Strategic National Stockpile product. No Project BioShield purchase, CEPI award, or EU HERA procurement is recorded here. EV76 is the one in actual campaigns: laboratory staff and enzootic populations in Russia and Kazakhstan, and Mongolia since 2002.

    Outside this set

    Killed whole-cell
    Haffkine’s killed vaccine dates to Bombay in 1897. A formalin-killed whole-cell vaccine was later licensed in the United States and then withdrawn. Both were reactogenic, and neither is one of the 21.
    Earlier rF1V
    The fusion in programme 03 started as a Department of Defense antigen. Older trials paired it with alum under the DynPort contract. The live entry in this set is the CpG 1018 version, now inside Sanofi.
    Antibodies
    This is a vaccine list. Therapeutic antibodies, including published anti-LcrV antibodies, are not scored.
    Drug-resistant strains
    Antibiotic resistance does not change F1 or V. The briefing does not test these candidates against a named multidrug-resistant isolate. Imperial’s RNA work used a Madagascar clinical isolate and did not call it resistant.