Pipeline

Programme 06

rF1V + flagellin adjuvant

TLR5-ligand adjuvanted F1/V fusion protein

An NIH / NIAID programme. Flagellin, a bacterial protein that triggers TLR5, is fused to F1 and V and given as two intramuscular doses. The Phase 1 trial NCT01381744 ran from 2012 to 2014 and found dose-dependent antibodies and no vaccine-related serious adverse events. The briefing still files it as Phase 1. It is not licensed, and no company owns it.

Stage chart
Preclinical
Phase 1
Phase 2
Phase 3
Licensed

Phase 1. Phase 3 is empty here, as it is for every programme in the set.

Years on the record

2009–2026. Labelled “2009–now” on the briefing. Not a forecast.

Analyst card

Challenge
Designed for pneumonic plague. The Phase 1 measured antibodies, not protection after challenge.
F1-negative strains
Not reported. F1 and V are both in the fusion.
Adjuvant
Flagellin, a TLR5 agonist, fused to the antigens.
Route
Intramuscular on day 0 and day 28. Doses of 1, 3, 6, or 10 micrograms.
Stability
Liquid in phosphate-buffered saline, pH 6.2.
Time to protection
Antibodies were measured over 13 months. Time-to-protection is not reported.
Other threats
Plague only.
Survival figure
No challenge. After two 10 µg doses, peak anti-F1 IgG was 260 and anti-V IgG was 984 in the 2017 paper. Those are titers, not a correlate of protection.
Animal Rule
No FDA Animal Rule designation is recorded. Human plague challenge is not done; a US licence would need animal efficacy under 21 CFR 601 Subpart H, plus a correlate of protection. Neither is established here.

Pipeline record

Product
Flagellin fused to F1 and V, in phosphate-buffered saline at pH 6.2. Flagellin triggers TLR5.
Trial
NCT01381744, also called DMID 08-0066. Sponsor: NIAID. Phase 1, randomised, placebo-controlled, dose escalation.
Regimen
1, 3, 6, or 10 micrograms, intramuscularly on day 0 and day 28. Aimed at pneumonic plague.
What happened
The registry lists 48 people; the 2017 paper reports 60 enrolled. No vaccine-related serious adverse events. Antibodies to F1 and V rose with dose. The authors said higher doses might be worth testing. Ran from February 2012 to August 2014.
Where it stopped
The briefing still files it as Phase 1. No later licence appears in this set, and no company is named as the owner.

Registries

  • NCT01381744 · ClinicalTrials.gov · Flagellin/F1/V dose escalationPhase 1. NIAID, DMID 08-0066. February 2012 to August 2014. Registry enrollment 48. Intramuscular on day 0 and day 28, at 1, 3, 6, or 10 µg.

News

Checking today’s headlines.

Latest intel

Checking Europe PMC.

PubMed

Checking today’s index.

Platform
Subunit

Purified pieces of the bacterium — here, usually capsule antigen F1 and the V antigen, LcrV — instead of a living organism. This is the only platform in the set with a new marketing authorisation.

Who is paying
US — NIH / NIAID
Country
United States
What was tested
Human · Phase 1
Stage
Phase 1
Date
2009–now
Antigens named
F1V / LcrV